Lonely red peppers

Standard

Since we came back from Europe I wanted to try making “something kind of like” my mom served us for dinner after our hiking trip; stuffed peppers. But hmm…her meal was delicious obviously but too heavy to handle for my stomach on a regular day and I learned my mistake.

While doing shopping last weekend in the Organic Garage I saw a stock of beautiful big red peppers and I couldn’t resist buying them. I was planning to make them on Monday but then by the time I came back I was too hungry to wait for dinner so they had to wait.

I was off today so finally I picked these 2 guys from my fridge, stuffed them with “tofu ricotta” following this recipe.

Tofu stuffed red peppers

“Tofu ricotta”

2 big red peppers

1 garlic clove

1 tsp olive oil for greasing your baking dish

spices: herbs de Provence, nutritional yeast, salt&pepper

cheese of your choice (Tom got it with a regular Jarlsberg and since I didn’t have any vegan cheese at home I had one without cheese).

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Start by washing and drying your peppers, then trim them from the top and core the center. Squeeze a garlic clove and rub them inside the peppers. Lightly oil your backing dish or use  parchment paper. Stuff peppers with “Tofu ricotta” and sprinkle with cheese on top. Place in the oven for around 40 minutes, watch them to make sure the skin is not burning. It’s  great and high in protein meal for any time of the day. You can add any veggies or salad on the side.

I am off for Yoga Therapeutics training during the weekend so I am pretty excited about that. Will be back with some reviews for sure….until then

Stay well,

 

Izabela

 

Leave a Reply

