Homemade Almond Milk

Standard

Due to the large consumption of almond milk in this household (I know some of you have the same problem;) I thought about making my own. I held on to this idea for a long time. It scared me a little bit but actually it was easier than I thought it would be, and maybe I spent just half an hour doing it.

I guess I am on a mission to make as many homemade food/beverages as possible…

You will need:1 cup of raw almonds soaked overnight and 4 glasses of water. You will get around 1100 ml of milk and 1 cup of almond pulp.
In the morning rinse the almonds in cold water and (here is the fun part) peel the skin of. Apparently you can pour boiling water on them and leave them for 10 minutes to get rid of the skin faster but I just used my hands here. Then place almonds + 4 cups of cold water in a blender and mix it for a few minutes.
The final step is to pour the milk slowly into your 1 liter bowl -throw a thin cloth  and very carefully squeeze the entire contents out of the cloth.

The almond pulp is great for other uses. You can add a few tablespoons of milk, some sweetener and you will get cream cheese for pancakes in the morning;) Keep the milk in the fridge for no more then 2-3 days, it gets sour after day 3. But is didn’t last that long.

I am already thinking about adding some vanilla and cardamon next time to make a vanilla almond milk.
Let me know if you try it.

xoxo

 

Izabela


Leave a Reply

