Bday cake and celebration!!!

Standard

Here I am in my lat late twenties…besides 2 grey hair on the top of my head I don’t see or feel any different (uff). So having a Bday in the middle of a work week sucks and I am sure all of us can somehow relate to it. My official birthday started after 11pm on Monday night with my mom’s phone call, just to let me know that I was born at that hour but GMT + 5. I thought that was super sweet of her but still I was half awake and it was hard to appreciate it.

My actual birthday (Tuesday) was busy at work but at least it prevented me from sitting alone and getting depressed that I am spending this day with myself as usually. Need to admit that Facebook did a pretty good job in this department. I was receiving bday wishes at least once per hour so it kept me smiling during the day. I went to work and by the time I came back home it was already late in the evening.

My Bday celebration was postponed to the following weekend. I was pretty skeptic about staying in the house so we went out to a restaurant for the dinner and came back to our house for the rest on the night. It was lots of fun and I am glad we did it this way. It saved me from cooking at least once;)

The Bday story is all about the cake. As some of you know food sensitivity is a real “pain in the gut” and I didn’t want to have a regular cake this time (not that I don’t like it). We found a gluten free bakery close by and I hoped we would just order one. It turned out it was way too late so on Friday night I was without a birthday cake. Desperately I decided to make one and if it doesn’t come out well we  would just buy any cake in the morning.
A while ago I purchased the book “Quinoa 365” and a friend from work was telling my about the cake that she is making from it. So….I adopted it and changed a little bit. I think this recipe is brilliant. It turned out great, moist, rich in flavor not to sweet not to bitter.
A simple chocolate cake is what I needed. And everyone else seemed to enjoy it too.

(Gluten free) moist chocolate cake
2/3 cup white quinoa
1/3 milk ( I used almond milk)
4 eggs
1tsp pure vanilla extract
¾ cup melted butter ( I used Earthbalance)
1 ½ cups sugar (mine was palms sugar)
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used less than that)
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt

Cook quinoa in 1 1/3 cups of water according to the instruction and et it cool down. First combine milk, eggs, vanilla in a blender. Add quinoa (you should have around 2 cups cooked quinoa now) and butter-blend until smooth. In a separate bowl whisk sugar, cocoa, baking powder, salt and soda. Add to the blender and continue until everything will be well mixed. Divide the cake batter in a greased dish and bake for 45 minutes in 350F. Let it cool down, keep it on the counter.*

*I added some walnuts to the butter and coverdc my cake with avocado
chocolate icing. I put fresh blueberries and raspberries the next day. For those who wanted whipped cream was on the side. -Yummy!!!

Super easy, my skeptic friends couldn’t believe it was from quinoa so I guess I passed my test;)

Have a fabulous week guys,
xoxo

Izabela

 

 

Leave a Reply

