Mexican Night on Halloween

Standard

Hola Bloggies,

How was your weekend?
My weekend’s excitement was limited to a get together with our friends on Saturday night. Obviously you would think that there is going to be some sort of the Halloween party but instead we had Mexican night. My first thought was: that’s gonna be bad for my tummy. I can’t eat main Mexican ingredients, such as corn, beans. My body doesn’t tolerate this well so I got anxious just from thinking about it.

Note here: my circle of friends are not vegan, neither vegetarians. Some of them are more health conscious, some less. Parties that we have are loaded with snacks and food and at the beginning I felt really limited with my food choices. It took a lot of explanation why I am so picky about it. But it gets better now. No more eye rollings and they try to accommodate my habits into theirs by asking in which restaurant I would be able to find something for myself or even offered me to prepare a separate dish that would not include some of the ingredient. So we are half way now;). I am very thankful for that! Being alone on this kind of “food journey” is not always easy..

We shared dishes between us, everyone brought one Mexican dish. All the interesting choices were taken so I ended up with making Mango Salsa and a cake- Flan. (I got a recipe a few years ago from a Mexican friend so I figured that’s what I will make). Salad is extra easy, healthy and you can use it as a side dish or on top of your crackers:

Mango Salsa:

1 ripe mango (peeled and diced),1/2 Jalapeño pepper (if you like it
spicy , decrease the amount to make it mild), ½ red onion, cucumber,
fresh cilantro, 3 tbsp. of lime juice and salt&pepper to taste*
You can also include avocado if you feel like it.

*I am not good at writing the proportion, experiment with your own
taste and preferences. Just mix all the ingredients.

About the Cake- it was not a healthy dessert although delicious so if you feel like cheating your diet sometime you can definitely go for it. I am sure there is a way to figure out how to substitute the ingredients with healthy options but simply I just didn’t have time for it. I had a piece and I think from time to time it’s not bad thing to do. Overall the table was full of snack, nachos, guacamole, salsa dips and crackers, even fruits so they were options…and the rest is your “willpower”. We had lots of fun yesterday. So no matter how you call it I am thankful for the relaxing time with my friends without compromising my life style. On Sunday I was resting tho;)

And how you handle a social occasion, do you find it difficult to keep up with your diet? Please share.

Izabela

Leave a Reply

