Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Standard

After ten phone calls back and forth with Tom’s family regarding Thanksgiving get together finally we ended up doing the dinner at our house on Sunday afternoon. I am not a meat eater and if I have a choice I won’t eat at all but since everyone else does we had to spend the day shopping for “The Bird”.

I went on to several blogs and recipes pages to see what I can add to this dinner so I will actually enjoy eating. Finally I decided to roast some veggies and make a green salad. I don’t mind preparing the already chopped up meat but the whole “naked” turkey with his organs inside made me disgusted. So… Tom took over this part:

Then I marinated it in herbs, EVO overnight. I had classes on Sunday morning and I had to make everything ahead of time. The Thanksgiving Menu was:

Main Course

The Turkey

Sweet potato

Mushroom sauce

Cranberries and Vegetable Salad from Tom’s mom

Roasted veggies

Green Salad with pecans, pears and cranberries ( from Angela OhSheGlows)

Dessert (No bake, inspired by Angela’s recipe)

Vegan Chocolate Mouse Cake

Ingredients:

Small portion 1-2 people. Double ingredients for more people

¼ cup of dates, pecans/or walnuts, almonds

¼ c maple syrup

¼ c. coconut oil

Chop in the food processor until you will get a crust (not to fine, rather coarse). Press down in to the form. Put in the freezer.

Blend:1 ripe avocado, 1-2 tbsp almond butter, 1-3 tbsp cocoa powder, ¼ c maple syrup until smooth. Melt ½ cup of chocolate chips in ¼ c almond milk. Add to the avocado mixture. Pour the mouse on top of the crust, freeze for 1-2 hours. Enjoy!!!

After the party was over we spent the rest of the night catching on our TV Shows (Dexter & Breaking Bad – oh yeah!!!)

Official Thanksgiving Day was Lazy!!!No complains. The only activity we managed to do was taking a morning walk with Sophie in a nearby valley to check out Fall colours.

Since I had my first day off in a last two weeks I obliviously ran to the yoga class to enjoy my time off…

And how was your long weekend?

xoxo

 

Izabela

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

